Senator Bettencourt Named Chair of Special Property Tax Committee

HOUSTON – Senator Paul Bettencourt (SD 7), a longtime crusader for property tax relief in Texas, has been named Chair of the Select Committee on Property Tax Reform and Relief by Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick. The committee will hold hearings throughout the State of Texas to examine and develop options to reduce the tax burden on hardworking Texans. This was spelled out in an interim charge recently issued by Lieutenant Governor Patrick.

“I am honored to be named the Chair of this important committee,” said Senator Bettencourt. “I look forward to building upon what we accomplished in the 84th Legislative Session and bringing about meaningful tax relief to all Texans.”

In the 84th Legislation session, important legislation was passed to bring about tax relief. Proposition 1, which was recently passed by the voters, increased the homestead exemption. Additionally, SB 1760 included an amendment by Bettencourt that requires a supermajority to raise taxes.

“The passage of Proposition 1 with over 86% of the vote shows that all Texans know there is a need for property tax relief,” continued Bettencourt. “As high as tax bill increases have been for people’s homes, tax bills on businesses are rising even faster. All Texans deserve tax relief.”

Taxable values throughout the State have been rapidly increasing, with Houston seeing a 15% increase, a 12% increase in Austin, an 11% increase in San Antonio and a 9% increase in Dallas. Statewide, tax bills are increasing at a rapid pace.

“Tax bills simply cannot continue to increase faster than Texans’ paychecks,” continued Bettencourt. “As values go up, tax rates must come down. We cannot continue to saddle taxpayers with ever increasing tax bills with no light at the end of the tunnel.”

The Select Committee on Property Tax Reform and Relief will be announcing a series of hearings throughout the State in the coming weeks. Also named to the committee are Senators Brandon Creighton, Kelly Hancock, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Charles Perry, Van Taylor, and Carlos Uresti.